7 Stages of divorce

As I logged into my email account I was expecting to see the usual deluge of emails for H&M , CVS and Pottery Barn along with the other junk mail that quickly makes it’s way to my trash bin.
In between the BOGO emails one stood out . An email from my lawyers office. Over the last year and a half that we’ve worked together on what I feel is my never ending divorce I have gotten many emails from Ed and Tara Today’s however was a step forward, but that’s what I thought for every email and court date . So who knows .
In NJ there are 7 stages to a divorce
Stages they call it- like some terminal illness .
Well here they are
Stage 1- Beginning the Divorce Process
Stage 2 &3 – Case Management and Discovery
Stage 4 &5- Early Settlement and Mediation
Stage 6 &7-Intensive Settlement and TRIAL

After reading the email I found out that we were going to have an Intensive Settlement conference. Yay stage 6. It could go either way – we could settle and finally move on from this stagnated life we’ve been in or get ready for a trial. More money and more time !!!
I never though that I would be so emotionally drained by something . This divorce has taken me to the brink of sanity and back. You have to create some mental fortress to protect yourself because you never know how long the journey is . I remember the day I sat in my attorney’s office for the first time and said to him that I wanted to get divorced. So naive I was when I said that we shouldn’t have any issues that I believed my ex and I would work amicably to get this done . Boy was I in for a surprise
I wanted to write this blog as a release a place to vent and to give someone else an insight to a high conflict divorce .
My next post will take you the beginning and we can go through this together.

Stay strong .
Necia

This entry was posted in Stages of Divorce and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 7 Stages of divorce

  1. Necia – I lived in PA, got divorced in MO because of move. I feel your pain, all too well! Hang in there, the end is almost near and then closure!

    Like

Leave a comment